As A Caregiver, I Will…

DSC_6519 copy

Respect the gains

Of physicians’ steps I walk.

Avoid overtreatment and

Therapeutic nihilism.

Remember that there is art

To medicine,

As well as science.

 

Not be ashamed

When the skills of another

Are needed.

Remember that I do not

Treat a fever chart,

But a sick human being.

 

Respect the privacy of my patients,

Their problems are not disclosed to me

That the world may know.

Tread with care in matters of

Life and death.

Not play at God.

 

Remember that I remain

A member of society,

With special obligations

To my fellow human beings.

 

–found poem by Melissa Savas, excerpted from Hippocratic Oath: Modern Version, by Louis Lasagna.

Leave a Reply

