A Doctor’s Journey

DSC_0173

At six-thirty in the morning

Of July the first

I was swallowed by the House of God

 

I will remember there is an art to medicine

If it is given me

To save a life

It may be within my power

To take a life

This awesome responsibility

Must be faced with great humbleness

And awareness of my own frailty

 

I must not play God

 

I do not treat

Fever chart

Cancerous growth

But

A sick human being

 

You want to see bodies

Go see bodies

I’ve seen enough bodies

Especially bodies of GOMERS

To last me the rest of my life

 

–Jennie Bunce, A Doctor’s Journey, a found poem with excerpts from The House of God by Samuel Shem and The Hippocratic Oath Modern Version

Leave a Reply

