Emotion Work

How am I to survive?
How could I take care of them?
I am gonna die.
There is no spark of life.
A person who is revealed
Is to be less than he or she claimed.
She seems to talk fine to me.
Why are you crying?
I don’t know what to do.
I’ll take care of it myself.
You’re a machine.
You’re not dead, you’re alive.
I feel healthy and alive.
Time turned timeless again.
Workers are trained to make
Their emotions instruments of labor.
They cannot show
It disturbs the able body

 

– Exerpts from Samuel Shem’s “House of God” (Pg. 175, 248, 284, 302,304, 316-319, 338) and
Arthur Frank’s “Five Dramas of Illness” (The Drama of Emotion Work)

Leave a Reply

