I’ll Remember You

I’ve been thinking:

What do the living do?

So I ask those who are far more experienced than I.

They tell me, Saturday afternoon at 5:30,

The bells begin to ring.

Calling to the people,

To praise the Lord.

Those afternoon bells lift their hearts with joy.

I thought it again, and again later,

What do the living do?

So I asked about friendships.

They calmly explain with wisdom in their voice,

A true friend’s trust is long lasting like God’s eternal love.

A friend is always there when push comes to shove.

Their voices forever sketched in ink,

This is the everyday we spoke of.

But more importantly,

I’ll remember you.

–Found poem by Marco Reyes, excerpted from What the Living Do, by Marie How, and HPU LifeLines Poetry Workshop participants from Pennybyrn at Maryfield, High Point, NC, February 12, 2014 and February 26, 2014.

Leave a Reply

